Tuesday, 20 June 2017

Latest read: Trust Me by Angela Clarke

Today's short review is my latest read 'Trust Me' by the amazing Angela Clarke. Book 3 in the 'Social Media Murders' Series featuring DS Nasreen Cudmore and her long-time friend and ex-journalist turned Police analyst Freddie Venton.


From the book...

YOU SAW IT HAPPEN. DIDN’T YOU?

What do you do if you witness a crime…but no-one believes you?

When Kate sees a horrific attack streamed live on her laptop, she calls the police in a state of shock. But when they arrive, the video has disappeared – and she can’t prove anything. Desperate to be believed, Kate tries to find out who the girl in the video could be – and who attacked her.

Freddie and Nas are working on a missing persons case, but the trail has gone cold. When Kate contacts them, they are the only ones to listen and they start to wonder – are the two cases connected?

Dark, gripping, and flawlessly paced, Trust Me is the brilliant third novel in the hugely popular social media murderer series.

Angela Clarke
About the Author...

Angela is an author, playwright, columnist and professional speaker.

Her debut crime thriller Follow Me (Avon, HarperCollins) was named Amazon’s Rising Star Debut of the Month January 2016, long listed for the Crime Writer’s Association Dagger in the Library 2016, and short listed for the Good Reader Page Turner Award 2016. Follow Me has now been optioned by a TV production company.

The second instalment in the Social Media Murder Series Watch Me (Avon, HarperCollins) is out January 2017. And the third Trust Me (Avon, HarperCollins) is out June 2017.

Angela’s humorous memoir Confessions of a Fashionista (Ebury, Penguin Random House) is an Amazon Fashion Chart bestseller.

Her play, The Legacy, enjoyed its first run at The Hope Theatre in June 2015.

An experienced and entertaining speaker, Angela has given talks, hosted events, and masterclasses for many, including Norwich Crime Writing Festival, Camp Bestival, Panic! (in partnership with Create, the Barbican, Goldsmiths University and The Guardian), Meet a Mentor (in partnership with the Royal Society of Arts), Northwich Lit Fest, St Albans Lit Fest, BeaconLit, and the London College of Fashion. She also hosted the current affairs radio show Outspoken on Radio Verulam in 2015, and has appeared regularly as a panel guest on BBC 3 Counties, BBC Radio 4, and the BBC World Service, among others.

In 2015 Angela was awarded the Young Stationers' Prize for achievement and promise in writing and publishing. She also works for The Literary Consultancy critiquing manuscripts and mentoring. Angela, a sufferer of the debilitating chronic condition Ehlers Danlos III, is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts, volunteers with Womentoring, Meet a Mentor and at HM Prisons. She is passionate about bringing marginalised voices into the industry. You can find out more about her at www.AngelaClarke.co.uk

My thoughts...

Like many others, I first discovered Angela when 'Follow Me' was released back in early 2016. I raced through it, hoping there would be a sequel. Delight at the news that there was to be another in the series quickly turned to despair knowing I would have to wait months and months for it to be released! 

As expected, when 'Watch Me' was released I grabbed my copy on publication day and devoured it! I was extremely fortunate to be allowed access to an advance reader copy of 'Trust Me' and again, I could not wait to read it. It delivered, just as much as the previous two, perhaps even more so as we witness the friendships and relationships evolve further, bringing a new depth to the characters.

This series is one of my favourites. It is super fresh, relevant and current. The social media aspect brings in everything we rely on day-to-day in our 21st Century lives in order to present fast-paced, gripping thrillers with characters you are destined to fall for. Freddie Venton has been my favourite since day one. She is wild, brutally honest and totally unpredictable and compliments Nas' more conservative nature perfectly. 

'Trust Me' go and read it!

Get your copy...

  

Tuesday, 13 June 2017

Book Spotlight: Liar by K L Slater

About the Author...
K L Slater
Kim is the bestselling author of psychological crime thrillers 'Safe With Me,' 'Blink' and, the soon to be released, 'Liar.'

For many years, Kim sent her work out to literary agents and collected a stack of rejection slips. At the age of 40 she went back to Nottingham Trent University and now has an MA in Creative Writing.

Before graduating in 2012, she received five offers of representation from London literary agents and a book deal which was, as Kim says, ‘a fairytale … at the end of a very long road!’

Kim is a full-time writer and lives in Nottingham with her husband, Mac.

She also writes award-winning YA fiction for Macmillan Children's Books, writing as Kim Slater.

Author website: www.KLSlaterAuthor.com
Twitter: @KimLSlater
Facebook: KL Slater Author

About the book...

Liar by K L Slater
How far would you go to protect your family?

Single dad Ben is doing his best to raise his children, with the help of his devoted mother Judi. And then Ben meets Amber. Everyone thinks this is a perfect match for Ben but Judi isn’t so sure…

There’s just something about Amber that doesn’t add up. Ben can’t see why his mother dislikes his new girlfriend. And Amber doesn’t want Judi anywhere near her new family. Amber just wants Ben and the children.

The further Judi delves into Amber’s personal life, the closer she gets to shocking secrets that could change everything. And Judi must make a decision that could lead to the most disastrous consequences.

Liar is a compelling psychological thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you awake until the early hours. Perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl Before and The Sister.


My Thoughts...

Sometimes I think that phrase is such a cliche. 'It will keep you awake until the early hours'. Liar truly did. I could not put it down. As enthralling as it is sharp. Kim is the master of psychological thrillers and Liar is everything I have come to expect from her. Gripping, chilling, fast-paced and believable. It draws you in and spits you back out faster than you can say 'Liar'. 

'Liar' is out this week!
Get your copy now...




Get it on Google Play











More from K L Slater...

 

Monday, 12 June 2017

Blog Tour: Day of the Dead by Mark Roberts

Today I am pleased to get my turn on the blog tour of Mark Roberts' new thriller 'Day of the Dead'. Let me introduce you to a fantastic author and a really, really great book!

About the author...

Mark Roberts

Meet Mark Roberts. Born and raised in Liverpool and educated at St. Francis Xavier's College. Mark taught in mainstream schools for twenty years and for the past twelve in a school for teenagers with severe learning difficulties. He received a Manchester Evening News Theatre Award for Best New Play of the Year. and was long listed for the Golden Dagger for 'What She Saw'. 'Blood Mist' is the first novel in the DCI Eve Clay series and is set in his native Liverpool.

About the book...


A serial killer. A hero to some. A wanted criminal to others.

The man who calls himself Vindici broke out of prison last year. Now he's filmed himself torturing and killing paedophiles in Liverpool's affluent suburbs.

Half the city are celebrating: the streets are now safer for their children. But for DCI Eve Clay and her team at the Merseyside Police, it's a nightmare. Their job is to solve crimes and lock up the killer – hard enough without being despised by the public they are trying to protect.

And now, just when they think they've cracked the case, they receive a photo of Vindici at a Day of The Dead parade in Mexico. If Vindici is 5,000 miles away, who are they hunting in Liverpool? DCI Eve Clay must draw on all her cunning to unmask a killer who is somehow always one step ahead.

What I Thought...

The Day of the Dead is my first experience of the talented Mark Roberts, and what an experience it was! Described as 'intricate and fast-paced' it is everything a modern day thriller should be.

Spread over three intense action-packed days, it seems like weeks have passed since the beginning. Roberts' attention to detail and character depth is phenomenal, bringing an entirely believable story to life in spectacular fashion. The running theme of 'neither one thing, nor another' is as fresh and current as it is confusing and forces you to constantly question events and characters.

Full of unexpected twists, just when you think you may have a clue what is going on, the rug is swept from under your feet and chaos descends once more.

Genuinely one of the best serial killer thrillers I have read this year, I am looking forward to reading more from Mark Roberts.





Also by this Author...